Early Morning Sketches on the Train

Pitt pen S (almost empty) in A6 sketchbook, Pentel colourbrush sky blue

I commute for 30min every morning on the 6.09 train into town. It is not easy to sketch in the train – either the subjects are all turned to the front with their back to me or will sooner or later understand what I do. I feel I impose on them and try to draw sureptitiously. However, once I started it gets easier.

Here a sample from my early morning sketchbook

 

The frizzly lines are mostly due to my pen giving up. In some pictures I like it – e.g. in the headphones and in the girl’s face in the picture with the blue hat. In others I feel it is too much – namely the one with the worker’s jacket and legs.

I want to learn more about hatching and how to use it to best effect.

3 thoughts on “Early Morning Sketches on the Train

Leave a Reply

