Life Drawing Class

At my third life drawing class this autumn I felt I have overcome the initial problems of orientation and proportions and find myself where I left off a year ago. Although there are a couple of new aspects, too.

I like to begin with the head and shoulders to get a feel for the pose and work my way down. I tried other approaches – like being all over the paper all the time, or beginning with the feet – but they make me feel disorientated.

Our model this week had a braid. I liked that very much as it helped me to define the inclination of the head and the shape of the shoulders.

Coal on A3 newspaper paper (the lines have been smudged stamped themselves between drawings)

 

Leave a Reply

