Spinnoff to Dramatic Marks

The exercise about dramatic marks seems to have struck a cord with me. I don’t want to let it go just yet and keep coming back to it with my inks and sketchbook. The inks I use won’t lift off easily so I used this technique only in the first one.

photo-1

 

Pelican nib pen ink, water and acrylic marker (white) on cartridge paper.

I tried to achieve an effect of light backlighting a nondescript foreground. I was not trying to depict anything here.

 

 

The other two started in a similar way although I built the tones up instead of using lift off. For the fire picture I started with a rough frame in undiluted ink and draged that into the centre with clear water. I then emptied my brush on the oposite page, first diluted and then some short marks in undiluted ink. I then let the images inspire me to add colour, trees, snow and crows to amplify what I saw in them. I worked on them simultaneously and let them inspire each other.

crws-and-fiire
Black, yellow and red calligraphy ink, water, indian ink on cartridge paper

 

crows-in-snow
Black and white calligraphy ink, water on cartridge paper

Neither of the images was planned, they grew under my hands. I like the spontaneous element of the crows although they are not perfect. I regret having tried to make them clearer by adding a (very bad) wing.

One thought on “Spinnoff to Dramatic Marks

Leave a Reply

