Challenge accepted

As mentioned in connection with Part 2 and the last tutor report I tried to go bigger. Initially I thought the specific exercises in part 2 did not lend themselves to large scale and expressive mark making but I think that has more to do with me limiting myself than with the actual exercises. In the end I did make a large piece from one of my spin offs to exercise 2.1.

I´m not sure if the mark making can be called expressive. In the background maybe – it is made with a 20 cm trowel for surfacing and I could work with my whole arm. The pattern, on the other hand, was more restricted although I treated it less timidly the longer I worked.

Working big certainly feels very differently from drawing with pencil on an A4 sheet.

sphere
Acrylic paint and acrylic marker on drawing paper, 100 x 102 cm

 

6 thoughts on “Challenge accepted

Leave a Reply

