4.3 Experiments with writing

As I looked through my work from early in this course I came across letters as a means of mark making and decided to try it out with the feet. 

I had also been thinking about the relationship I have to my feet, what they mean to me and how to bring that across in a drawing. It is much more undefined and harder to express as with the hands. Especially as I can’t draw my feet running or walking. 

I decided to put some of my ideas in a text an draw with that. However, I did not want the words to destract from the drawing so I wrote in German cursive. The text is memories from my barefoot days as a child. Where I grew up the rural kids (and farmers) walked barefoot from spring to autumn, in all weathers.

I started by making blue footprints, then sketched the outlines of my feet and legs. 

“Bodenhaftung”*, ink pen and watercolour

I like the effect of the writing and how the feet seem to stand on it. I also like the footprints in blue. The picture has a subdued quality in colour and line that I think goes well with the idea of memories. 

But The squiggly writing makes the drawing chaotic, too much going on.

In version 2 I tried to make it calmer. But I think I overdid it making the drawing too stiff. 


Also the left foot does not seem to be mine.

Version 3 is the opposite of v 2, leaving the background blank and using the writing to model the feet only.


I like how the direction of the writing gives volume to the feet, adding a dimension more to the painted shadows. 

All in all I think I like my drawn drawings better than these although I like the idea here. I have also strayed from the exercise and negative spaces so I’ll leave it at that and send in my assignment.

*Bodenhaftung, (German) means traction and figuratively grip on reality

Leave a Reply

