Ink portraits

Ink is a wonderful medium to loosen up drawing! To this purpose I made myself a new pen out of a short bamboo stick. It makes uneven marks, very thick in the beginning, thin when the ink’s run out. I can also draw with it on its side to make broad bold marks.

These drawings involved a lot of contour drawing I noticed.

The close study for Assignment 1 was a lot of help. I knew what lines I wanted to draw and how. However, none of the first two looks like me. The one in blue ink is a better likeness. In all of them I like the quality of the lines and how they add life to the drawing.

self-portrait-ink
Calligraphy ink Sepia, bamboo and glass pen on A3 cotton watercolour paper

 

These could possibly be me in my teens. I wonder what it is that makes the blue one look slightly older…

 

self-portrait-inkandwash
Calligraphy ink Sepia, bamboo pen and brush, A3 cotton watercolour paper
self-portrait-blue-ink
Calligraphy ink blue black, bamboo pen and brush on A3 cotton  watercolour paper

7 thoughts on “Ink portraits

    1. Thank you! That is quite a compliment 🙂
      Ink is a wonderfully soothing medium. Why not try it yourself? If you enjoy the act of drawing the outcome does not really matter. Skill will follow!

      Like

Leave a comment